• ABI Workstreams: Maximize the Impact of Federal Funding

    Federal funding for broadband should target areas of need, be simple for broadband project sponsors to identify funding opportunities, and leverage state/local policies and programs to make better and more efficient use of federal dollars.

  • ABI Workstreams: Leverage Federal Assets for Broadband Deployment

    Federal assets such as tower facilities, buildings, and land should be made available for use in deploying broadband infrastructure as much as possible to lower the cost of broadband buildouts and encourage private-sector companies to expand telecommunications infrastructure, especially in rural America.

  • ABI Workstreams: Streamlining Federal Permitting

    A streamlined Federal permitting process will make it easier for network builders and service providers to access Federal assets and rights-of-way, reducing the regulatory burden and simplifying the deployment of broadband networks.

  • BroadbandUSA Federal Interagency Work

    NTIA is the Executive Branch agency principally responsible for advising the President on telecommunications and information policy issues. As part of this mission, the agency serves on the Executive Leadership Team of the American Broadband Initiative.  The Initiative expands on the work of the Broadband Interagency Working Group. 

  • Federal Permitting: Department of Energy (DOE)

    The Department of Energy (DOE) ensures America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.

  • Webinar Archive

    BroadbandUSA presents a webinar on the third Wednesday of every month at 2 p.m. Eastern Time on a range of topics of interest to policymakers, decision-makers, practitioners and consumers.



  • National Broadband Availability Map

    On July 23, 2020, NTIA announced the addition of two states to its National Broadband Availability Map (NBAM) program. Indiana and Georgia join 20 other states who are partnering on this critical broadband data platform. These states join California, Colorado, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. The mapping platform allows for the visualization of federal, state, and commercially available data sets. This includes data from the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), U.S. Census Bureau, Universal Service Administrative Company (USAC), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), Measurement Lab (M-Lab), and the state governments. Administrators for these states can access the mapping platform and its data in order to better inform broadband projects and funding decisions in their states.

  • Federal Permitting: Overview

    The federal government owns or controls about 640 million acres of land in the United States, about 28 percent of the total land area of 2.27 billion acres.