State Broadband Leaders Network (SBLN)

Sun, April 02, 2017

The State Broadband Leaders Network (SBLN) is a community of practitioners who work on state broadband initiatives. The National Telecommunications and Information Administration’s (NTIA) BroadbandUSA program coordinates the group and convenes participants to share priorities and best practices; discuss emerging telecommunications policy issues; link states and local jurisdictions to federal agencies and funding sources; and address barriers to collaboration across states and agencies. BroadbandUSA also works with SBLN to support technical assistance offerings for communities, businesses and organizations at the local level.

Because of the diversity of entities that are involved in state broadband efforts, SBLN participants represent a variety of state level offices. SBLN participants are senior managers or directors from State Broadband Offices, Geographic Information Services (GIS) offices, Offices of Information Technology (IT), Public Utility Commissions (PUCs), Commerce Departments, Economic Development Agencies, Universities, State Extension Services, Public Safety offices and state-designated third party entities. 

Participants should be employed by a dedicated broadband office in a state or territory. They may also be government or university employees that have broadband responsibilities as part of their official duties but do not work in a dedicated broadband office. Contact BroadbandUSA at to learn more about participating in SBLN. States that are currently participating in SBLN include: 

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin