Funding guide

ARC - Special Broadband Allocation (KY, TN, WV)

Broadband Funding Guide

Appalachian Regional Commission

Federal Agency

Appalachian Regional Commission

Agency Overview

The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) is a regional economic development agency that represents a partnership of federal, state, and local government. Established by an act of Congress in 1965, ARC is composed of the governors of the 13 Appalachian states and a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president. Local participation is provided through multi-county local development districts.

Program Name

Special Broadband Allocation (KY, TN, WV)

Program Website

Program Overview

ARC is expanding outreach and technical support associated with the $20 million special allocation to help improve rural broadband access in distressed coal- impacted communities in Kentucky, Tennessee and West Virginia and the 13-state Appalachian Region.

Program Purpose
  • Planning (e.g. feasibility)
  • Broadband Infrastructure (e.g. construction)
  • Broadband Adoption
  • Digital Skills Training
  • Public Computer Access
Eligible Recipients
  • Libraries
  • K-12 Schools
  • Higher Education Institutions
  • Hospitals
  • State and Local Governments
  • Tribal Entities
  • Non-Profit Organizations
  • Electric Utilities/Co-ops

Agency Contact

1666 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Suite 700
Washington, DC 20009-1068

Telephone: (202) 884-7700


For questions on specific topic areas, please refer to the contacts listed on the ARC Offices and Staff page.

Funding Type


FY2018 Funding Amount